Hartmut Derendorf, PhD, FCP

Hartmut Derendorf is Distinguished Professor, V. Ravi Chandran Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Chairman of the Department of Pharmaceutics at the University of Florida College of Pharmacy in Gainesville.  He received his B.S. (1976) and Ph.D. (1979, summa cum laude) in Pharmacy from the University of M√ľnster, Germany and then joined the University of Florida, first as a Postdoctoral Fellow (1981/82) and later (1983) as a faculty member. He has been teaching Biopharmaceutics, Pharmacokinetics and Clinical Pharmacokinetics. He was awarded numerous teaching awards such as the UF Teaching Improvement Award, HHMI Distinguished Mentorship Award, UF Research Foundation Professorship, CVS Pharmacy Endowed Professorship, International Educator of the Year Award and UF Doctoral Advisor/Mentoring Award. He has supervised over 50 Ph.D. students.

Prof. Derendorf has published over 440 scientific publications and given over 850 presentations at national or international meetings. He has published ten textbooks in English and German.  He is Editor or Associate Editor of the Journal of Clinical Pharmacology, European Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences,  International Journal of Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics, International Journal of Antiinfective Agents  and Die Pharmazie, and serves on the Editorial Board of  several other Journals. His research interests include the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of corticosteroids, analgesics, antibiotics as well as drug interactions.

Prof. Derendorf has served as President of ACCP (American College of Clinical Pharmacology) in 2006/08 and President of ISAP (International Society of Antiinfective Pharmacology) in  2004/06.  He won the McKeen-Cattell Award for the best publication in J. Clin. Pharmacology (1994) and the Faculty Award of the University of Utrecht (2005). In 2003, he was awarded the Nathaniel T. Kwit Distinguished Service Award of ACCP and the Research Achievement Award in Clinical Science of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Sciences (AAPS). He is a Fellow of AAPS and ACCP as well as a former review panel member of the NASA Human Research Program. In 2010, he was awarded the Volwiler Award of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) as well as the ACCP Distinguished Investigator Award, the highest research awards of both organizations. In 2013, he was awarded the First Leadership Award of the International Society of Pharmacometrics (ISOP). In 2015 he received the Merit Medal of the Westphalian Chamber of Pharmacy as well as the ACCP Mentorship Award.